Woolson’s Writings

Selected works of Constance Fenimore Woolson were printed (and reprinted) in several volumes of family biography by Woolson’s niece, Clare Benedict. To the uninitiated, they are confusing, thus this note. Five Generations: 1785-1923 is the general title for three volumes published in 1930: Voices Out of the Past (Vol. 1), Constance Fenimore Woolson (Vol. 2), and The Benedicts Abroad (Vol. 3). Benedict then reprinted the second volume of the series, Constance Fenimore Woolson, in 1932 and added selected published and unpublished materials in “Appendix A.” In this bibliography, the four volumes Benedict edited are referred to as: Benedict 1, Benedict 2, Benedict 3, Benedict 4 (1932).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s